

## Excellence Strategy: TU9 Universities successful with 21 cluster applications

Major success for TU9 Universities in funding allocation under the Excellence Strategy of the German Federal Government and the German Länder: TU9 Universities, alone or in cooperation with others, secured 21 of the 57 approved Clusters of Excellence (37%). Eight of the nine TU9 Universities are consequently eligible to apply for the Universities of Excellence funding line.

**Berlin, September 27, 2018:** The applications have been decided in the Excellence Strategy of the German Federal Government and the German Länder (States). As Federal Minister of Education and Research, Anja Karliczek, and Bremen Senator for Science, Professor Dr. Eva Quante-Brandt, today announced at a press conference at Wissenschaftszentrum Bonn, a total of 57 Clusters of Excellence have been approved.

TU9 Universities are outstandingly well represented: 21 of the approved Clusters of Excellence (37%) originate from or involve TU9 Universities. The Clusters of Excellence will receive between €3 million and €10 million in funding a year commencing January 1, 2019, initially for a period of seven years. The Excellence Commission's decision thus once again underscores the strength of TU9 Universities in cutting-edge research.

Today's decision leaves eight TU9 Universities in the running for the status of University of Excellence and entitled to apply in the second funding line for Universities of Excellence. The precondition for this is success with at least two (or for alliances at least three) Clusters of Excellence. The six TU9 Universities RWTH Aachen University, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Technische Universität Dresden, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Technical University of Munich, and University of Stuttgart are consequently among the 17 universities eligible to apply. Technische Universität Berlin and Leibniz University Hannover are each members of the two eligible alliances. They now have until December 10, 2018, to submit their applications. Once these have been reviewed, the decision on award of the University of Excellence title will be made on July 19, 2019.

On the basis of a preceding international review, an international expert panel appointed by the Joint Science Conference of the Federal Government and the Länder consulted on the 88 funding applications submitted from 41 universities in 13 of Germany's 16 Länder. Some 195 outline applications were submitted by 63 universities from all 16 Länder, of which 88 were selected for full applications.

The following Clusters of Excellence are to be established at or with the involvement of TU9 Universities:

RWTH Aachen University	Internet of Production
RWTH Aachen University	The Fuel Science Center – Adaptive Conversion Systems for Renewable Energy and Carbon Sources
Technische Universität Berlin	Unifying Systems in Catalysis
Technische Universität Braunschweig	Sustainable and Energy-Efficient Aviation
Technische Universität Dresden	Center for Tactile Internet (CeTI)
Technische Universität Dresden	Physics of Life – The Dynamic Organization of Living Matter
Leibniz University Hannover	PhoenixD – Simulation, Fabrication, and Application of Optical Systems
University of Stuttgart	Data-integrated Simulation Science (SimTech)
University of Stuttgart	Integrative Computer-Based Design and Construction for Architecture



Matter and Light for Quantum Computing
MATH+ Berlin Mathematics Research Center
Science of Intelligence
Light and Matter at the Quantum Frontier: Foundations of and Applications in Metrology (QuantumFrontiers)
Complexity and Topology in Quantum Matter: Basic Concepts, Material Design, and New Technologies
Hearing4All: Research for Personalized Treatment of Hearing Deficits
3D Designer Materials
Post Lithium Storage
e-conversion
ORIGINS: From the Origin of the Universe to the First Building Blocks of Life
Munich Center for Quantum Science and Technology
Cluster for Systems Neurology

### **About TU9**

TU9 is the Alliance of leading Universities of Technology in Germany: RWTH Aachen University, Technische Universität Berlin, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Technical University of Darmstadt, Technische Universität Dresden, Leibniz University Hannover, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Technical University of Munich, and University of Stuttgart.

Tradition, excellence, and innovation are the hallmarks of TU9 Universities. Founded during the Industrial Age, they contributed decisively to technological progress back then and continue to do so today. They enjoy an outstanding reputation around the world as renowned research and teaching institutions that promote the transfer of knowledge and technology between universities and practice. As such, they train exceptional young academics for careers in science, business, and administration and assume social responsibility. TU9 Universities foster top-class international networks and diverse cooperation with industry, making them a key element of Germany's position as a location of science and innovation.

## PRESS RELEASE



#### **Contact TU9**

Dr. Nicole Saverschek (TU9 Managing Director) TU9 German Institutes of Technology e.V. Anna-Louisa-Karsch-Strasse 2 D-10178 Berlin

Tel: 0049(0)30 27 87 47 680 E-mail: <u>presse@tu9.de</u>

# www.tu9.de

Facebook: <a href="https://www.facebook.com/TU9.de/">https://www.facebook.com/TU9.de/</a>

Twitter: twitter.com/tu9 germany